About Us

Mission Statement

The section's purpose is to promote the objects of the State Bar of Texas within the area of gathering, improving, and analyzing existing laws regarding Antitrust and Business Litigation as well as Antitrus Compliance and Counseling, and to keep the members of the State Bar of Texas advised in those regards. All of our acts shall be subject to the laws governing the State Bar of Texas and its policies, rules, and regulations.

2016 - 2017 Annual Report of the Section

Richard D. Milvenan, Immediate Past Chair

The section published articles discussing antitrust and business tort developments in the Texas Business Litigation Journal, including one on recent class action decisions in the 5th Circuit Court of Appeals and its district courts and one on recent noteworthy decisions relating to the
use and admission of expert testimony. The 11th Annual Distinguished Counselor Award was presented to leading antitrust lawyer and former section chair Robin P. Hartmann, of Haynes and Boone, for service to the section, excellence in antitrust or business litigation, and high professionalism and ethical standards. At the 2016 Annual Meeting,\section presented The People v. Dewey LeBoeuf: Prosecuting and Defending Individual Responsibility for Corporate Mismanagement, with Elkan Abramowitz, who represented Dewey’s managing partner in that case, and other panelists discussing trying individuals for corporate crimes. This year, the section presented Antitrust Enforcement and Compliance in the Trump Era, with J. Bruce McDonald, of Jones Day, and M. Sean Royall, of Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher. The section supported initiatives promoting pro bono and lawyer assistance, programs and sponsored interns in the Antitrust Section of the Office of the Texas Attorney General.